4 Classic Books by Frances Hodgson Burnett: The Secret Garden & More

Frances Hodgson Burnett

Frances Hodgson Burnett (1849 –  1924) was a British-American novelist and playwright. Born in Cheetham, England, Burnett emigrated to the U.S. with her mother and siblings when she was in her teens, settling in rural Tennessee. At 19, Burnett started publishing stories in magazines to help support her family.

Over the course of her decades-long writing career, Burnett wrote over fifty books and thirteen plays. While many were forgotten, here are four books by Frances Hodgson Burnett that have become timeless classics:

The Secret Garden

The Secret Garden

The Secret Garden
was published in 1911 after an original version was first serialized in The American Magazine in 1910. The story follows the journey of Mary Lennox, a sickly and unloved 10-year-old girl born to wealthy British parents in India.

After a cholera epidemic kills her parents, Mary is sent to England to live with her uncle in an isolated, mysterious house. The tale follows the spoiled and sulky young girl as she slowly shedding her sour demeanor as she discovers a secret locked-up garden on the grounds of her uncle’s manor.

Mary befriends Dickon, one of the servant’s brother, a free spirit who can communicate with animals, and Colin, her uncle’s son, a neglected invalid.

During Burnett’s prolific career, The Secret Garden was a mere footnote among her other works. It wasn’t until after her death in 1924 that the book gained in popularity. It was then that it was marketed as a children’s book.

Several film adaptations of the book have been created, including a Japanese anime version and a 40-episode YouTube series titled The Misselthwaite Archives coined after Misselthwaite Manor, the name of the estate Mary moves to in England.

More about The Secret Garden

. . . . . . . . . .

A Little Princess

A Little Princess

Published as a novel in 1905, A Little Princess was inspired by Burnett’s 1888 serialized novella Sara Crewe: or, What Happened at Miss Minchin’s. In 1902, Burnett composed a play inspired by the Sara Crewe story, called The Little Un-fairy Princess. Her publisher then asked her to expand the story into a novel with “the things and people that had been left out before.”

The novel was published in 1905 with the full title A Little Princess: Being the Whole Story of Sara Crewe Now Being Told for the First Time. The story begins with young Sara and her father, Captain Ralph Crewe, arriving in London after living abroad in India.

Coming from a world of wealth, Captain Crewe sends Sara to boarding school, believing it will be the best education and route for his daughter. The wealth of her family causes the headmaster of the school, Miss Minchin, to become tainted by jealousy and feign kindness towards Sara, which the young girl sees right through.

Much the opposite of the main character in The Secret Garden, despite her rich upbringing and spoils, Sara is brave, kind, and intelligent, and soon her classmates begin to referring to her as a princess.

After receiving devastating news of her father’s death, Sara is left with nothing — which Miss Minchin cruelly uses to her advantage, locking the young girl away in the attic to work off her tuition and debts.

Throughout her ordeals she holds her head high, and remains kind and charitable to those even less fortunate than herself, and knows that whatever her outward circumstances, she is always a princess inside.

More about A Little Princess

. . . . . . . . . .

Little Lord Fauntleroy

Little Lord Fauntleroy

Little Lord Fauntleroy
was the first story that put Burnett on the literary map, first published as a serialization in 1885, then as a book in 1886. The story is of a young boy, Cedric Errol, living in poverty in New York City with his widowed mother.

One day they receive a visitor with a message that reveals to Cedric and his mother that he is the heir to the Earl of Dorincourt, making him Lord Fauntleroy. The mother and son move to England to embrace their newfound fortune, but soon discover Cedric’s grandfather, the old Earl, is a bitter old man with a lingering distrust towards all.

The story follows the patient, kind boy, and his ability to transform his grouchy old grandfather, which benefits not only the castle but the entire region of the earldom.

The costume worn by Lord Fauntleroy inspired a fad of formal dress wear for middle-class American children. The classic “Fauntleroy suit” was a velvet jacket and matching knee pants, worn with a fancy blouse with a ruffled collar. The character of Cedric is said to be inspired by Burnett’s youngest son, Vivian, and the clothing illustrated in the book inspired by the costumes she tailored for both her sons.

In 1888, Burnett discovered a plagiarized version of her novel had been turned into a play, and successfully sued. She then wrote her own theatrical version of Little Lord Fauntleroy, which opened May 14, 1888 in London, and soon restaged in France, Boston, and New York City. 

More about Little Lord Fauntleroy

. . . . . . . . . .

The Lost Prince

The Lost Prince

Published in 1915, The Lost Prince is the story of a young boy named Marco Loristan and his father, Stefan. Stefan, a Samavian patriot, is working to overthrow the unfavorable dictatorship in the kingdom. The pair, in exile from Samavia, move to London where Marco strikes up a unique friendship with a street urchin named The Rat.

The two boys imagine fighting for their home country of Samavia and concoct a plan to restore The Lost Prince, a mythical figure who is the rightful heir to rule Samavia. The two embark on a secret mission to travel across Europe to deliver a message to a secret society that “The Lamp is Lighted,” a signal to those who have been stock-piling supplies.

Following a common theme among Burnett’s books, the novel is a classic children’s book highlighting the virtue of self-discipline, earned respect, and parental love and faith in a child’s ability.

. . . . . . . . . .

More about these books by Frances Hodgson Burnett

. . . . . . . . . . 

4 classic books by Frances Hodgson Burnett

. . . . . . . . . .

*This post contains affiliate links. If the product is purchased by linking through, Literary Ladies Guide receives a modest commission, which helps maintain our site and helps it to continue growing!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to The Literary Ladies Guide weekly newsletter

Celebrating women’s voices
with inspiration for readers and writers

  • Find your next great read
  • Get writing advice from authors you love
  • Enjoy fascinating facts and quotes
  • Discover women’s literary history

... and lots more (look for a bonus in your welcome letter!)
Email address
Secure and Spam free...