Many Waters by Madeleine L’Engle (1986)

Many Waters by Madeleine L'Engle cover

From the 1986 Farrar, Straus and Giroux edition of  Many Waters by Madeleine L’Engle: Many Waters continues the distinguished and popular Time Trilogy, made up of Newbery winner A Wrinkle in Time, A Wind in the Door, and A Swiftly Tilting Plant. 

Nothing especially interesting has ever happened to Sandy and Dennys, the run-of-the-mill twins in the extraordinary Murry family. Nothing, that is, until the bitter cold afternoon when, fooling around in their parents’ lab, they type on the new computer: TAKE ME SOMEPLACE WARM … SOMEPLACE WARM AND SPARSELY POPULATED …

And tessering across time and space, Sandy and Dennys are suddenly in a harsh desert land where, if they believe in unicorns, they can find unicorns, and whether they believe or not, mammoths and manticores will find them.

. . . . . . . . .

A Wrinkle in Time (cover) by Madeleine L'Engle

See also: A Wrinkle in Time
. . . . . . . . . . .

They are rescued by Japheth, a man from the nearby oasis, whole sister Yalith both boys fall in love with. Soon embroiled in the conflicts of this remote, fantastic place in which winged seraphim, perilous but beautiful nephilim, and small long-loved humans coexist uneasily, the twins discover they have more to do than simply get themselves home.

With her characteristic inventiveness and storytelling genius, Madeleine L’Engle has created what is perhaps her most remarkable adventure novel.

Many Waters by Madeleine L'Engle

Many Waters on Amazon*

Madeleine L'Engle's books

Madeleine L’Engle’s books on*

More about Many Waters by Madeleine L’Engle

*These are Bookshop Affiliate and Amazon Affiliate links. If a product is purchased by linking through, The Literary Ladies Guide receives a modest commission, which helps maintain our site and helps it to continue growing!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *