Daily Archives for: November 15th, 2015

The Education of Harriet Hatfield by May Sarton (1989)

From the 1989 W.W. Norton edition of The Education of Harriet Hatfield by May Sarton: In this novel by Mary Sarton, Harriet Hatfield at sixty begins a new adventure. Her friend of thirty years has died and left her enough money to fund her dream of running a women’s bookstore. But when Hatfield House: A Bookstore for Women opens in a blue-collar neighborhood near Boston, Harriet is bombarded by anonymous threats, and obscenities are written on the windows.

Then a Boston Globe reporter headlines her interview, “Lesbian Bookstore Owner Threatened” and the education of Harriet begins. Never before has she thought of herself as a member of a persecuted minority. Read More→

Categories: Book descriptions Comments: (0)

Many Waters by Madeleine L’Engle (1986)

From the 1986 Farrar, Straus and Giroux edition of  Many Waters by Madeleine L’Engle: Many Waters continues the distinguished and popular Time Trilogy, made up of Newbery winner A Wrinkle in Time, A Wind in the Door, and A Swiftly Tilting Plant. 

Nothing especially interesting has ever happened to Sandy and Dennys, the run-of-the-mill twins in the extraordinary Murry family. Nothing, that is, until the bitter cold afternoon when, fooling around in their parents’ lab, they type on the new computer: TAKE ME SOMEPLACE WARM … SOMEPLACE WARM AND SPARSELY POPULATED … Read More→

Categories: Book descriptions Comments: (0)